Nominations for the Jefferson Award for Public Service Now Open

JeffersonAwardsLogoThe Jefferson Award, recognized as the Nobel Prize for public service, was created in 1972 by Cincinnati’s own U.S. Senator Robert Taft, Sam Beard, and Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, and is presented annually to recipients in more than 90 cities in the United States.

The Rotary Club of Cincinnati partners with The Cincinnati Enquirer, Local 12, and AIPS (American Institute of Public Service) to recognize those special people in our community who have created a program that serves an unmet need, or a special volunteer who has provided extraordinary service to an organization.

On March 2, 2017, the Rotary Club of Cincinnati will host the annual Jefferson Award presentation luncheon during our weekly meeting and will announce this year’s winner.  The winner will then go to Washington, D.C. in June to represent our region for the National Award. Bob Herzog of Channel 12 will once again emcee the program.

But we need your help!  We need you to assist in nominating candidates for this prestigious award. The Cincinnati Enquirer has created an online nomination form, which you can reach by clicking HERE.  You can also read the Enquirer’s article about the Jefferson Award which appeared on Sunday, January 15, 2017, by clicking HERE. The deadline for nominations is February 10, 2017, at 3:00 PM.